Skip to content
January 5, 2011 / HL

Cabo Fish Taco | Take 2

I made your classic #1 ordering mistake – going to a restaurant that specializes in a particular dish and ordering the exact opposite of that. It’s like going to Ruth’s Chris steakhouse and ordering the chicken.

Whoops.

My bad.

It’s probably due to two reasons. First, I had visited Cabo Fish Taco just a few months before and had their signature fish tacos, so I wanted to try something new. Secondly, I had the idea set in my brain (and belly) even before I walked in the door when I spotted it on the Specials board displayed outside.

Prime Rib Burrito

Once it came out, I knew it was a HUGE mistake.  It doesn’t even look good! Nor did it taste good. The inside was a mixture of rice, prime rib (kinda stretching it there – let’s be frank, it was plain beef slices), mushroom and onion. It’s like having beef stroganoff, without the noodles, inside a tortilla. There were no distinguishing flavors at all.

And then came the food envy…

Beer Battered Fish Taco and BBQ Mahi Taco

Drool…Seriously, you guys, have you seen meatier fish tacos? Each bite was full of the flaky and tender fish, mixed with the dressing and spice of the coleslaw.  Dub-C devoured it all. Kindly, he offered to trade halfsies, but I couldn’t punish him for my mistake.

They do have other burritos on their menu, like their Signature Wasabi Tuna Burrito featured on Diners, Drive-ins, and Dives that are solid. Just don’t get the prime beef one…

Cabo Fish Taco:  3201 North Davidson Str. Charlotte, NC 28205

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 129 other followers

