Skip to content
July 12, 2012 / HL

Trip Back Home (NC)

For the week of July 4th, Dub-C and I went to visit my family in NC. We love visiting my family because we have lots of fun and we eat lots of food. This is the first summer in about 4 years in which I visited home, so I was surprised to see how uncomfortably hot and humid it was. Ugh. I was grateful to return to the mild PNW after a week away.

We ate a lot of my mom’s home cooking, but we did try a few new restaurants during our visit. It’s not a trip to the South without some Carolina BBQ.

The Pit

We hit up The Pit in Raleigh, NC for their whole hog BBQ. This means that you BBQ a whole hog and offer various cuts of it. Their original pitmaster was legendary, but left to start another restaurant. However, the restaurant still remains true to its practices.

The Pit

Fried Green Tomatoes

The Pit

The Pit

I got the pulled pork while Dub-C got the ribs-chopped BBQ combo plate. I used their vinegar based BBQ liberally. Delicious! I also got fried okra and collard greens as a side. I treated myself to a biscuit, which was soft, fluffy and buttery.

While we were in Charlotte, we planned to visit Price’s Chicken Coop. Once we arrived, we were disappointed to find they were closed for the week! We quickly made a detour to Big Daddy’s Burger since it was close by.

Bad Daddy's

Bad Daddy's

Fried Pickle Chips

We started with these fried pickle chips. I must say, these were pretty delicious. The pickles are cut the long way and they were crispy on the outside while still being juicy on the inside.

Bad Daddy's

Classic Southern Burger

Bad Daddy's

Burger with Bacon and Avocado

I opted for a burger with a lettuce wrap. I always get excited with I get lots of lettuce! The burger patty was pretty meaty, so I got full quickly (or maybe it was because of the pickle chips).

Bad Daddy's

housemade potato chips

I also had some of the housemade potato chips, which is one of my weaknesses. They were crisp and delightful. Yum!

This post does not include some of the delicious food my mom cooks, but we still enjoyed many of her yummy eats. My mom always can’t wait to have all the kids back under one roof and takes our “order” before we all arrive. It’s always great to be home.

The Pit | 328 W. Davie St. Raleigh, NC

Bad Daddy’s Burger | 1626 East Blvd, Charlotte, NC

3 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Stephanie / Jul 12 2012 10:55 PM

    This all looks AMAZING! I would love to try the pickle chips!

    • HL / Jul 13 2012 8:23 AM

      Thanks Stephanie! Gotta love some soul food!

Trackbacks

  1. Grazie Mille, Gracias, Thank You | nc & beyond

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 129 other followers

